Shrimp Fried Rice

I enjoy cooking, but rarely have the time or patience to try new recipes.  I fall back on the old standards again and again.  Every once in a while, I will find a recipe I want to try, but I usually have to work hard to convince Jeanne to agree to it.  The other day, I asked her what she wanted for dinner and she said “fried rice.”  Never having made it, I assumed she wanted to go out to dinner… possibly at our favorite chinese restaurant.  I was wrong.

She wanted me to find a recipe and give it a try.  So I did.  The recipe I found came from here, but I didn’t have any red pepper or peas on hand.  I substituted frozen corn and edamame, used brown rice (we are trying to eat more fiber), and used some frozen cooked shrimp we had.  Even with the tweaks, it turned out to be pretty tasty!  Next time, I plan to use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown rice (the texture was a little gritty with just brown), an extra egg, mixed vegetables that include diced carrots and peas, and fresh shrimp that I can brown up a little better.  So here is the recipe as I intend to make it next time.

Shrimp Fried Rice

1 c white rice, 1 c brown rice, cooked
1 onion, chopped
2 cups frozen mixed vegetables (ex. corn, peas, carrots, edamame)
1 clove garlic, minced
20-25 small shrimp
2 eggs, beaten
soy sauce to taste (up to ¼ cup)
butter or oil

Cook rice as directed. (I added a little butter while it sat waiting for the rest of the recipe)

Sauté onion and mixed veggies in butter or oil. Set aside.
In deep frying pan, saute garlic and shrimp in remaining butter or oil.  When light brown, add in veggie mixture and eggs.  Cook eggs and add in rice and soy sauce.  Stir and simmer until heated through.

Variation: dice up boneless chicken, sauté instead of shrimp.

Leave a Reply

