It’s been a long week!

As I was driving home from work this afternoon, my mind was numb from the first week back at school, so I had a moment of confusion as I passed a sign outside an apartment complex.  It said “Lease Now”, but in my Friday afternoon stupor, I read it as “Please Now”.  It took me a moment of wondering what that could possibly mean before I realized it was posted in front of the Leasing office of the complex. Oooohhh.  I get it now!

Then, that got me to pondering the idiosyncrasies of the English language.  Why does LEASE rhyme with FLEECE and not PLEASE?  LEASE is just PLEASE without the P.  The rules of pronunciation in English are completely irrational.  I am so glad I am not trying to learn the language for the first time!

The rest of the way home, as I was considering how wacky it all was, I decided that perhaps the manager of said complex should have a new sign made up.

“Don’t get fleeced… Please Lease!”

OK – I think I need to go to bed early tonight.  Now I am just getting silly!

Leave a Reply

