25 things about me…

I thought I would share some things about myself – some of these are well known, others are not.  Maybe we will have something in common…

1. I grew up about 1 mile east of the Capital in Washington, DC.  I was also about 1 mile west of RFK stadium, so have been a life-long Redskins fan.

2. I was born in Canada, but was adopted at age 3 months

3. I played Little Red Riding Hood in 2nd grade — we performed the whole play in Spanish! The only 2 words I remember are roja and lobo.

4. When we were little, my brother and I, along with 2 friends of ours, would play Batman and Robin. Jay was Batman, Terry was Robin and I was Bat Girl. Sandra (3 years younger than me) was “Bat Baby”. We made that character up.

5. One time, when my parents had bought something that came in a large cardboard box, my friend Alexandra and I made it into a TV, got inside and pretended we were the newscasters.

6. I had an Easy Bake Oven that I loved. What’s not to love about brownies cooked by a lightbulb?

7. I had a large stuffed Panda Bear when I was a kid. It was bigger than I was at the time! I kept it on the floor of my closet.

8. We had a cat that gave birth on the Panda. I got rid of it after that.

9. I once punched a girl in the face. (I was about 12 – I’m not proud of this)

10. The first time I kissed a boy was in 1st grade. I wonder if he remembers it too?

11. I never wore braces.

12. I didn’t wear glasses until I hit 40.

13. My favorite teacher in high school was Mrs. Michener.

14. My 2nd favorite was Mr. Tibbits.

15. I was stage manager for the 7th & 8th grade plays my Junior and Senior years.

16. I taught archery at a summer camp for 6 years.

17. I wrote poetry while in college.

18. Most of the poetry was really bad!

19. I have known I wanted to be a math teacher since I was in 5th grade.

20. I did consider other occupations along the way – nun, taxi driver, nurse – but always came back to teaching.

21. I have been teaching for 25 years.  Well, 23 years.  2 of the ones in the middle, I was the Assistant Dean of Students at a boarding school.  I guess that still counts as teaching – just not math.

22. I have taught in 6 schools (counting my student teaching and one year of summer school).

23. I’ll never teach summer school again.

24.    I should know better than to say “never”.  Jeanne used to say she would never return to Memphis.  Then we moved here.

25. I was really close to my grandmother — I can’t believe it has been over 5 years since she died.

OK – I have way more things to tell you about myself… the next 25 will get posted tomorrow.

4 responses to “25 things about me…

  1. My favorite is #16.

  2. Jackie Paulson 1966

    I wore braces, and I went to boarding schools.

Leave a Reply

