I am not cut out to be a blogger

When I first started this blog, I really envisioned myself writing a post at least once a week.  Sometimes more, sometimes less, but I thought I would do a good job at keeping up with it.  In the beginning, I did well.  Recently, not so much.  The last post I wrote was in mid-June.  Three months ago.

What is really sad about that is I am a teacher – I was off work from June 2nd through August 8th.  I should have had time to write – I did have the time, I just didn’t do it.  So here I am, having started the school year, realizing that I have not done a very good job at sharing my “personal musings on life and its challenges”.

One of the many things that has been occupying my time, of course, has been visiting Dad and dealing with the little things like making sure he has enough kleenex and shampoo.  Although I fully expected to spend more time with him in the summer than I did, now that I am back to commuting to work and back, it is just as easy to drop by on my way home as it was last year. I hope to be better about seeing him and reporting here (and on Facebook) about how he is doing so that family members who are scattered across the country can know what’s going on.

Mom is in town for a few days this week, partly to see Dad and partly to see me for my birthday (which is this weekend).  We are going to go out to dinner tonight to celebrate early, and are going to take Dad out too.  Jeanne and I took him out to a real restaurant one day this summer and it wasn’t as difficult as I was worried about, so we thought we would give it another try.  I’ll let you know how it all turns out!

2 responses to “I am not cut out to be a blogger

  1. I taught for 33 years! You must have a million funny anecdotes to relate. And there are the sad or ugly ones too. Now let me tell you about the time I was drunk and got arrested and one of my students was among the two dozen creeps in the holding cell…

  2. Cousin, you should only do what makes you happy – otherwise “life is too short” to worry about keeping up a blog, etc. It sounds like Uncle John is doing okay. I’m so glad he is with you. Awesome you could make Matt’s wedding and Edee could as well. I got super sick with an upper respitory infection so couldn’t go to a wedding that was scheduled that same weekend.

Leave a Reply

