Trying my hand at fiction (sort of)

Many of the bloggers I follow use their blog to exercise their writing skills.  Several of them are working on writing books.  I have no such aspirations.  I blog to share my thoughts on life, to share what is going on with me and with my dad, and to share my spirit with those who care to follow along.

That being said, something I read last week about writing prompts got me thinking.  What if I tried to write something besides what is going on in my life?  What if I tried my hand at fiction?

A novel was too intimidating.  I decided to start with a short story.  But what to write about?  I found a website that offered writing prompts, and one of them was “Bricks” – it brought back a memory from childhood that I have tried to craft into a fictionalized version of a real event.

Now I need to decide if I am brave enough to share it with anyone.  If you think you can convince me to publish it here, leave me a comment with a reason why I should.

4 responses to “Trying my hand at fiction (sort of)

  1. You should definitely publish your story! 🙂 I love reading other people’s stuff. Especially when it’s a different genre than I write because that often gives me inspiration to step out of my comfort zone a little and do something I’ve never done before! 🙂

  2. I like to read the 4 or 5 paragraph fiction(not a novel or short story on a post). Funny instances, anecdotes or inspirational. Give it a try. You will have some hits or misses like I do with my cartoons but I’d much rather read fiction. I usually just delete what I did today things. The blog helps us grow and develop talents and experiment with new things. It remains fun rather than a chore. Go for it !

  3. I’m so proud of you for putting it out there! Remember no one can tell a story like you can and even though you never planned on writing a book, you never know where life will take you 🙂 (as a suggestion, my daughter is 7 and loves santa as a parent I know it might be the last year and that makes me feel bummed, maybe write what the parents are feelings in there since the kids seem a little older than toddler as I said this is only a suggestion) keep up the great work, now I’m going to read more of your post, hugs! Michelle

Leave a Reply

